European Funding

Growing the North East's potential

The 2014-2020 European Structural and Investment Funds Growth Programme is now live. This funding offers a huge opportunity for the North East.

The European Structural and Investment funds are part of a national programme and are managed and publicised through the GOV.UK website.

The North East LEP area funds include £380m from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and European Social Fund (ESF) as well as £10.5m from the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD). County Durham qualifies for an additional £7.7m from the Youth Employment Initiative (please note these amounts are notional and subject to exchange rate changes).

Together, these funds will help facilitate the delivery of the Economic Plan for the North East LEP area. Details of the North East European Investment Fund Strategy are available here.

 

Open Calls

Low Carbon (PA4) Call December 2015

Call close: 31 May 2016

A further call for Low Carbon activities (PA4) has been launched, and releases a further £15-18m worth of ERDF for investments across the full range of eligible low carbon activities.

Please see the Low Carbon section of our ESIF Strategy for more detailed information.

This call invites responses which address key local priorities, identified in the ESIF Strategy and our Economic Plan:

  • Increasing uptake of renewable energy generation
  • Energy networks and systems
  • Whole building/place solutions
  • Developing and growing low carbon supply chains
  • Supporting research and development, commercialisation and roll out of, new and innovative technologies, products and processes which reduce carbon emission and energy use, especially linked to smart specialisation areas.
  • Business energy efficiency linked to North East Growth Hub activities

Potential applicants should go to the .gov.uk website, where you will find the full details of the call and associated guidance notes.

We will be holding a workshop in April 2016 which will provide potential applicants with more information on how to apply.

Register for the workshop.

How to apply

Applicants can find out how to apply here.  There has also been a document produced that provides output indicator definitions guidance, which applicants may find useful when submitting their applications. This advice can be found here.

A North East LEP Area Shadow ESIF Sub Committee has been set up as part of the application approval process. You can find out more about the Sub Committee here.

 

Other Information about the call and Useful Contacts

Elements of the Low Carbon call must be undertaken in line with a Low Carbon Plan (see (4a) responding to energy generation and (4e) and more holistic, place-based activities).  A Low Carbon Plan across the North East LEP area is being developed with partners during 2016.  Key contacts in each Local Authority can provide information on relevant documents which can be used in the meantime.

 

County Durham Stephen McDonald

Maggie Bosanquet

Stephen.mcdonald@durham.gov.uk

Maggie.bosanquet@durham.gov.uk

Gateshead Jim Gillon Jimgillon@gateshead.gov.uk
Newcastle Kit England

Adrian Mcloughlin

Kit.england@newcastle.gov.uk

adrian.mcloughlin@newcastle.gov.uk

North Tyneside Michael Keenlyside Michael.keenlyside@northtyneside.gov.uk
Northumberland Hugh Clear-Hill Hugh.Clear-Hill@northumberland.gov.uk
South Tyneside Stephen Calvert Stephen.Calvert@southtyneside.gov.uk
Sunderland Dianne Pattison Dianne.pattison@sunderland.gov.uk

 

For support to make sure that your ERDF application complies with all official guidelines, please contact:

Local Authority Contact Name Contact Details
Durham County Council Jan McDonald jan.mcdonald@durham.gov.uk

03000 269 484

Gateshead Council  Andrew Tate andrewtate@gateshead.gov.uk

0191 433 2084

Newcastle City Council Claire Prospert claire.prospert@newcastle.gov.uk

0191 211 5693

Kit England kit.england@newcastle.gov.uk

0191 211 50098

North Tyneside Council Judith Nunn judith.nunn@northtyneside.gov.uk

0191 643 6426

Northumberland County Council Carol Johns-McLeod Carol.Johns-McLeod@northumberland.gov.uk

01670 623875

South Tyneside Council Lee Cranston  

lee.cranston@southtyneside.gov.uk

0191 424 7792

Sunderland City Council James Garland James.Garland@sunderland.gov.uk

0191 561 1158

If you would like to speak to one of the North East LEP team about this call, please contact James Davies or Ben McLaughlin.

Upcoming calls

Further calls are anticipated later in 2016. For more information on potential future calls, please contact james.davies@nelep.co.uk.

 

LogoESIF_Col_Landscape-sq-small2
Funding News

Tue 24th May, 2016

North East LEP seeks to appoint panel of fund managers

Read more >

Mon 16th May, 2016

NORTH EAST SEEKS BRIGHT LIGHTS AT FUNDING PITCH TEST

Read more >

Sun 24th Apr, 2016

JEREMIE programme extended for North East SMEs

Read more >